

STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY SAGINAW BAY DISTRICT OFFICE



DAN WYANT DIRECTOR

SRN: B1493, Bay County

10/17/2014

Mr. David Noble Michigan Sugar Company - Bay City Plant 2600 South Euclid Avenue Bay City, MI 48706

Dear Mr. Noble:

VIOLATION NOTICE

On October 15, 2015, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Air Quality Division (AQD), conducted an odor evaluation for residential areas surrounding Michigan Sugar Company – Bay City Plant located at 2600 South Euclid Avenue, Bay City, Michigan. The purpose of this odor evaluation was to verify the odors as well as to determine if odors reported were in compliance with the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act; Part 55, Air Pollution Control, of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended (Act 451); the administrative rules.

Odor complaint(s) were received on October 14, 2014 and again on October 15, 2014, regarding foul odors, attributed to Michigan Sugar Company operations. The AQD staff detected odors in residential areas located northwest (downwind) of the subject site. Odors noted were of a different nature than reported during an odor evaluation on October 14, 2014, and were reported to be more of a septic-like odor.

During the evaluation, staff observed the following:

Process Description	Rule/Permit Condition Violated	Comments
Waste Water Treatment	901	Strong septic- like odor
Ponds		

In the professional judgment of AQD staff, the odors that were observed were of sufficient intensity, frequency and duration so as to constitute a violation of Rule 901 (and General Condition number 12 of ROP number MI-ROP-B1490-2011A).

Thank you for your attention to resolving the violation cited above. If you have any questions regarding the violation or the actions necessary to bring this facility into compliance, please contact me at the number listed below.

Sincerely,

Sharon G. LeBlanc

Environmental Quality Analyst

TharontedoBlanc/ai

Air Quality Division 989-894-6212

sgl/ai

cc/via email: Ms. Lynn Fiedler, DEQ

Ms. Mary Ann Dolehanty, DEQ

Ms. Teresa Seidel, DEQ Mr. Thomas Hess, DEQ Mr. Chris Hare, DEQ

Ms. Katelyn Wysocki, DEQ

Mr. Malcolm Mead O-Brien, DEQ

Mr. Charlie Baugh, DEQ Mr. Gary Witzgall, MSC Mr. Steve Smock, MSC