

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY DETROIT



C. HEIDI GRETHER DIRECTOR

August 3, 2016

Mr. Al Saylor A.L. Saylor Excavating/Demolition PO Box 320 Birmingham, MI 48012-0320

U821606712, Wayne County

Dear Mr.Saylor:

SECOND VIOLATION NOTICE

On May 24-31, 2016, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Air Quality Division, conducted an investigation of the asbestos-NESHAP subject property located at 16400 E. Warren, Detroit. The purpose of this inspection was to determine Biauka Investments SJ Design and Construction LLC and A.L. Savlor LLC, Excavating/Demolition compliance with the requirements of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 61, Subpart M (National Emission Standard for Asbestos), and Rule 942 of Part 55, Air Pollution Control of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended.

On June 28, 2016, the AQD sent the company a Violation Notice citing violations discovered as a result of the inspections and requested your written response by July 19, 2016. A copy of that letter is enclosed for your reference. As of this date, we have not received your response.

Please be advised that failure to respond in writing and identifying actions the company will take or has taken to resolve the cited violations may result in escalated enforcement action by the AQD. Please provide the information requested in our June 28, 2016 letter by August 17, 2016, which corresponds to 14 days from the date of this letter.

Be further advised that issuance of this Violation Notice does not preclude or limit the DEQ's ability to initiate any other enforcement action under state or federal law as appropriate.

Mr. Al Saylor Page 2 August 3, 2016

If you have any questions regarding the violations or the actions necessary to bring this facility into compliance, please contact me at the number listed below.

Sincerely,

Wilhimin Mchenore for

Joseph G. Goeddeke Environmental Quality Analyst Air Quality Division 517 331-7906

Enclosure

cc: Ms. Lynn Fiedler, DEQ Ms. Teresa Seidel, DEQ Ms. Heidi Hollenbach, DEQ Mr. Thomas Hess, DEQ Ms. Karen Kajiya-Mills, DEQ Ms. Wilhemina McLemore, DEQ